Friday, July 9, 2010

Commonwealth Games 2010 - Introduction

19th Commonwealth Games are scheduled to be held in New Delhi, India from October 3, 2010 to October 14, 2010. This is the first time India has been chosen as Commonwealth stage. 71 teams from 53 participating countries will compete for glory in national capital of India - New Delhi. World's third largest sporting event features a total of 17 sports to be played in 2010 including Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Boxing, Hockey etc. Delhi is geared up for this mega event and every effort is being made to make 19th Commonwealth games, best in history.

Here is a brief introduction to Commonwealth Games - Delhi 2010.

Commonwealth Games : An Overview

World's largest democracy is all set to host its first Commonwealth games in October 2010. Tracing its origin way back in 1911, when first Games were held involving members of the British Empire. In 1954, name changed to British Empire and Commonwealth Games, to British Commonwealth Games in 1970 and assumed the current name of the Commonwealth Games in 1978. Teams from Australia, Canada, South Africa, United Kingdom etc compete in sporting events including many Olympic sports & some sports that are played mainly in Commonwealth countries, such as lawn bowls, rugby sevens and netball.

Mascot of 19th Commonwealth Games

Shera, meaning tiger is the mascot of the XIX Commonwealth Games - Delhi 2010. He is a ‘large-hearted gentleman’ who loves making friends and enthusing people to ‘come out and play’. An iconic representative of a 21st century Indian citizen, Shera is an achiever with a positive attitude, a global citizen but justifiably proud of his nation’s ancient heritage. He is a fierce competitor but with integrity and honesty. Shera is a figured display of India's majesty, power, charisma, intelligence and grace. Endowed with legendary athletic prowess, courage and speed on the, he is also a reminder of the fragile environment he lives in and our responsibility towards the protection of his ecosystem.

Logo of Delhi's first Commonwealth Games

The national symbol of India - 'Chakra' is the inspiration for 2010 Commonwealth Games' logo. Spiraling upwards, it depicts the growth of India into a proud, vibrant nation and leading the way to host best ever Commonwealth Games in Delhi. The logo tagline - 'Come Out and Play' is an invitation to every person across all divides – Indian and Commonwealth - to let go of themselves and participate in the Games to the best of their abilities. It calls all Indians, specially Delhites, to come out in support of the Games and play the perfect hosts. Green color signifies life, energy and high spirits alongside a statement that Delhi 2010 will be the first ever "Green Games". Purple color adds a hint of mystery and excitement with satisfying the need for reassurance. Red, Yellow & Blue are Commonwealth Games colors, representing the ‘Trinity of Values’ that symbolize the games. Pink color has also been introduced to the palette adding an element of surprise and luxury to the Games.


A total of 17 events will be held involving many Olympic sports and some games played only in commonwealth games. Various events are :
1. Aquatics
2. Archery
3. Athletics
4. Badminton
5. Boxing
6. Cycling
7. Gymnastics
8. Hockey
9. Lawn Bowls
10. Netball
11. Rugby Sevens
12. Shooting
13. Squash
14. Table Tennis
15. Tennis
16. Weightlifting
17. Wrestling


All the events featuring in XIX Commonwealth Games will be held at six venue clusters and five stand alone venues in Delhi. The venues are :
1. Jawaharlal Nehru Sports Complex
2. Thyagaraj Sports Complex
3. Indira Gandhi Sports Complex
4. Dr. S.P. Mukherjee Swimming Stadium
5. Talkatora Indoor Stadium
6. Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium
7. Siri Fort Sports Complex
8. Dr. Karni Singh Shooting Range
9. R.K. Khanna Tennis Complex
10. Yamuna Sports Complex
11. Central Vista - India Gate
12. Delhi University

Besides this, the non competition venues are :

1. OC CWG DELHI 2010 HEADQUARTERS - New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC) building, Connaught Place.
2. Main Media Center - International Broadcasting Center (IBC) and the Main Press Center (MPC) will be set up at Pragati Maidan. IBC - to be managed by Prasar Bharti, MPC - to be managed by Press Information Bureau (PIB).
3. Games Family Hotel - Hotel Ashok
4. Indira Gandhi International Airport - Terminal 3 ready for operations.

By : Saranjeet Singh

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP